Kirkby Lonsdale clinch Division 2 title after five-wicket win

KIRKBY Lonsdale won the Division 2 Championship on Saturday with a five-wicket win against Netherfield 3rds.

Chasing 178, they lost two early wickets but their captain, Harvey Williams took up the challenge and scored 101 not out to secure the shield. It was a maiden hundred for the 22 year old who has led the side impressively to a League and Cup double.

If he can keep this team together then they won’t struggle in Division 1 next year, a couple of new recruits and don’t rule them out as surprise challengers for the Division 1 title.

With a second team finishing as runner up, only one side will be promoted from Division 2, and a maximum of one side relegated. That team is unlikely to be Bare who under the leadership of Richard Neville have fought tooth and nail this season to get the best out of their small squad.

On Saturday, Archit Bhadwaj (45) top scored in 146/7 against Burneside, Nathan Chambers taking 3/24. Ethan Elwood scored 42, but Mat Cook (5/34) and Robbie White (3/30) took the Powder House Lane team to a 33 run win.

Silverdale couldn’t upset the odds against champions, Carnforth and are 13 points adrift at the bottom. Only Jonty Moeckell (26 not out) made double figures as Darren Nelson’s 3/23 helped bowl them out for 76, a total that was passed for the loss of 3 wickets, Chris Parry making 30 not out. Shireshead openers, Tom Jacques and Joe Cunliffe added 155 for the first wicket against Arnside, but both fell heartbreakingly short of making hundreds. Jacques was caught and bowled by Jim Crawford for 99, and Cunliffe fell for 96, four short of a maiden hundred. 238/2 was too much for Arnside and although Nobby Lee (41) and Adam Richardson (77) rolled back the years in a 95-run partnership, Dave Jack’s season’s best 7/29 meant Shireshead won by 81 runs.

Ambleside’s four-wicket win against Arnside 2nds means that the last week of the season sees them one point behind Sedgwick 2nds at the top of Division 3. Robbie Tattersall (33) top scored for Sedgwick, but Jake Smith (5/51) pegged them to 170 and with Oli Battersby(68) and Sean Graves (42) in form, Morecambe 3rds were only 5 runs short of a surprise victory. Adam Kershaw took 4/30 as Sedgwick picked up 8 points for the draw. Richard Marshall (4/36) and George Needham (6/29) bowled out Holme 2nds for 70, Carl Weiss making 31. Needham then made 40 not out as Leven Valley won by 8 wickets. Graham Dodds (60) and Lewis Spurr (32) saw Carnforth 3rds to 186/7. Robert Reghelini (36), Harry Mason (34) and Jonty Moeckell (31) gained Silverdale a draw on 151/7.

Milnthorpe 2nds won the Division 4 championship on Sunday. Hrishi Desai’s 61 was the main ingredient in Sedgwick 3rds 147/9, but Mark Moorby (63 not out) and Scott Singleton (41 not out) took Milnthorpe to victory. They will be joined in Division 3 next season by Kendal 3rds who met promotion-chasing Trimpell 2nds on Sunday. Mark Huddleston (64), Mike Logan (36) and Martin Holt (34) enabled Trimpell to post 215/8, Megan Berry taking 3/40. Paul Hodgson (35) and Mike Dugdale (38) played contrasting innings and with Logan taking 3/23 and Rob Cope 3/11 Kendal had to hang on for a draw and second place. If Trimpell avoid defeat against Westgate 3rds on Sunday they will be promoted.

The Westmorland Gazette | North Lancs